Low FODMAP anti-Candida GREEN juice (that doesn’t taste like grass!)

For way too long now I’ve been living with a unbalanced gut flora.. it started a few years ago and took me about a whole year to even realise that anything was even off about my digestion.. Before that I just assumed everything was normal. Eventually things got worse and worse until about a year and a half ago when, despite trying to be ‘really healthy’, IBS symptoms seemed to be at their absolute worst. Which was the most confusing thing ever for me! Of course at the time I had NO idea that what I was experiencing was IBS, but I knew that the bloating, gas and messed up stool was definitely not normal.

The struggle was real.

giphy-4

But I was determined to figure this out.

So I downloaded an app. It tracked every little thing I put in to my mouth as well as all my symptoms. I started to pay more and more attention to my symptoms and was particularly surprised one night, when after feeling perfectly fine, I decided to eat half a mango, and instantly felt really bloated! This, along with the fact that my app seemed to associate fruit with many of my symptoms, led me to google something along the lines of ‘fruit intolerance’ (which I thought was the most bizarre thing ever at the time). Sure enough, it was possible.

giphy-5

Among many IBS sufferers, certain fruits (specifically, high-fructose and those with polyols) does not get digested properly in the small intestine and ends up being fermented in the colon by bacteria. This causes the bacteria (which is normally present in healthy amounts) to go bonkers and proliferate like crazy. Which is bad. In case you weren’t sure.

So anyway… after being Low FODMAP, Gluten Free, Dairy Free etc. I’m finally starting to put the pieces together and figure out that I need to take a holistic approach to my healing. That basically involves (but is not limited to) a whole lot of veg + veg juice, heaps of probiotic and fermented foods, plenty of water, removal of toxins and chemical products on my skin, high alkaline foods and the promotion of more stomach acids in order to better break down food before it gets to the intestines.

My aim is to eventually be able to eat a whole-foods, plant-based diet (with small amounts of organic meat here and there if I want), but with the inclusion of FODMAP’s (fructose, beans, onion, garlic etc. All the things that my bacteria currently has a party with). Because essentially these foods are GOOD for you.

So here’s the recipe I made that is virtually low FODMAP, sugar-free, and super green.

fullsizerender-5

 

  • 1 cucumber
  • 1 large head of kale
  • baby spinach (HEAPS)
  • 1 green capsicum
  • 1 lemon
  • A little water (optional)
  • Stevia to taste

I know it sounds pretty gross.. but the lemon and stevia makes it taste pretty good! And of course if you’ve got other greens like celery, broccoli etc. and fruit, and aren’t concerned with FODMAP’s or yeast overgrowth then by all means stack it up!

Enjoy 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

