Green thumb newbie: It worked!!!

My husband has always had a knack for gardening, and my mum’s always had some type of plant, herb or veggie growing in our backyard (or balcony), so when Tim and I walked past a nursery in Sorento, Italy, we decided it would be fun to buy some seeds to plant in our new home.

IMG_8581.PNG
I learnt early on in our relationship that gardening was one of Tim’s primary ‘gedo (grandad) chores’

We bought basil, oregano, chilli and tomatoes to start and decided to buy the rest in Australia.

IMG_4247.JPG
Our current collection

After a trip to Bunnings and no research whatsoever, we came home with some seed raising soil, a hand shovel and some cardboard-type seedling planters. The idea is that you water them each time the cardboard dries out. Sounded simple enough!

IMG_4240.JPG

Last Monday (5/10/16), we labelled each mini pot, and buried our little seeds in their new home based on the packet instructions that we could understand :S. Neither my husband or myself speak Italian unfortunately so we made an educated guess on those.

AND IT WORKED!

Every day we’ve been watering these dry, empty little tubs of soil, growing more and more disheartened each day. But this morning when I went to water the pitiful little things, it actually worked! And what’s even better is one of them is a tiny little Italian baby seedling! I don’t know why, but I feel so proud of the little things! This must be what it feels like to become a mother :’)

From left to right is Cucumber, Thyme and Basil.

Stay strong little guys!

7 Comments Add yours

  1. xaranahara says:

    Awaw. You grew yours from scratch! My fiancΓ© and I bought our little babies from Lowes. But we have been keeping up by watering them and changing the soil when need-be. We lost a beef-steak tomato plant from root-rot because we stupidly forgot to put holes in the bottom of the pots. Good news is it lasted for many months beyond that. But it died September 20, 2016. Our hybrid tomatoes and basil plants are still going strong, though. I couldn’t be prouder.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. thirtyoneplease says:

      That’s awesome πŸ™‚ there’s nothing better than seeing something ACTUALLY grow under your supervision lol

      Like

  2. Omg this is awesome!!!! I wish I could plant stuff like that!

    Like

    1. thirtyoneplease says:

      Haha just do it!! It was so much easier than I thought πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Noor Elhayat says:

    This post has just inspired me of some personal ideas!
    Glad I came across it!πŸ™πŸ½βœ¨

    Liked by 2 people

    1. thirtyoneplease says:

      Awesome!!! I’m so glad it inspired you πŸ™‚
      p.s. You look so much like someone I know!

      Like

Leave a Reply

