Hi, I’m Jess :)

Hey there!

Welcome to my very fist ever blog post ๐Ÿ™‚

I have absolutely NO idea how this blog is going to pan out BUT am very excited to be documenting/sharing/creating my thoughts and experiences through a creative online medium such as this one!

So… a little bit about myself:

I’m 24, just recently married on July 16, 2016 (my husband chose the date 16.07.16 so thatย it would be easy to remember lol) and have made the sea change from Sydney, Australia to the beautiful town of Port Macquarie โค

JT-934.jpg
This was our wedding… At a traditional Coptic Orthodox wedding the bride and groom play dress-ups and wear cool robes + crowns representing royalty. As a guest, you’llย also need to fight for your breathing space! Photography: Mint Images

Since I’ve been married, I’ve learnt that I really enjoy cooking! And that it’s not as hard as I thought it would be… (Although maybe I’m not being very adventurous with my cooking yet lol).

img_3704
My first ever roast! Thanks for the recipe mum ๐Ÿ™‚

I’ve learnt that (after taking a break from full time teaching) life is so much sweeter when you slow down, and that love is the simple answer to pretty much all of life’s problems! Living on the coast really helps too ๐Ÿ™‚

img_4055
My husband Tim and I on our first ever road trip with Finley (our van which we got as a wedding gift from my brother and sister-in-law).

I’ve also re-learnt (I’ve known for quite some time) that I REALLY like to create. And by create I mean virtually anything! It just makes me so excited to even think about it, and even though I don’t have the money at the moment to go and study a fourth (yes, fourth) degree.. I just can’t shake the feeling that I need to be spending my time (and perhaps making money) making things.

EDIT: I’m doing it!!! Currently studying a diploma of Graphic Design through Billy Blue โค could NOT be happier

Some ofย my creative adventures of old (and present) include:

Shellac + Nail art

IMG_3981.JPG
Shellac-ing and nail art

BULLET JOURNALING!

In capitalsย because this discovery clearly excites me!

IMG_4030.JPG
My tiny little A6ย bullet journal (or ‘bujo’ in bullet journaling lingo) which I bought by accident and was trying to use up before buying an A5 one but gave in andย ordered one online yesterday *insert monkey covering mouth emoji*. BUTT my husband said I could so.

To learn more about bullet journalling I recommend you visit the original Bullet Journaling websiteย and Boho Berry’s website – a great inspiration for adding creativity and character to your bujo.

EDIT: I have now spent an entire year in my A5 bullet journal and have learnt so much! To follow my plans find me at @white.plans on Insta.

 

Candle making

jt-1333
Personalised scented soy wax candles that I made for my wedding

Graphics

JT-1328.jpg
LOVED making these fun little games for my wedding! Each guest received this ‘He said – She said’ card of quotes that my husband and/or I have said and needed to circle the little moustache or lips to decide who said what :). This was really fun to go through with everyone at the end of the night. You can find this printable here at my ETSY store!

T-shirt design

IMG_0092.jpg
This was a personalised baby shirt I drew on to fit a teddy bear we gave my husband’s niece at her birth ๐Ÿ™‚

Gifts

I love making personalised gifts ๐Ÿ™‚ this was the wrapping I made for my brother’s wedding. It was a list of instructions and puzzles to complete before opening the gift on the plane ride to their honeymoon!

img_6573
Front view
img_6574
Back view

Painting/drawing

Perhaps one of the most surprising things I discovered about myself during senior school was that I could draw and paint! It’s such a satisfying feeling looking back at an artwork in disbelief and feeling proud of what you’ve made ๐Ÿ™‚

So there’s all my reasons why I want to do something with my hands and make art… I also like to do hair, makeup, hand-lettering, styling etc.. but for now I think I’m going to start small and pursue these loves of mine just one day at a time!

176203404142214866_jdzmz32q_c

 

EDIT:

HANDLETTERING! needs to be added here so..

TresChic_NB
My first ever digitised print, hand-lettered by yours truly ๐Ÿ™‚

You can head on over to my Etsy store to purchase this and other items โค

Stay happy!

jess_xo_madewithb

 

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Wow you have so much talent! It’s inspiring!!! I’m currently freaked out about what to do after college graduation, if I don’t get into grad school!! I don’t want to work 9-5 in a cubical all day everyday

    Like

    1. thirtyoneplease says:

      Aw thank you!! That actually means so much to me ๐Ÿ™‚ honestly.. Just do what you love! Because in my experience, you’ll either end up stressed, overworked and unhappy, and either stay like that or give it up and do what you enjoy anyway just a lot later on!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tereze Morkos says:

    That is really interesting ๐Ÿ‘
    Can’t wait to see what you come up with next.

    Like

    1. thirtyoneplease says:

      Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Nadine Roffaell says:

    You are so creative! Loved reading every bit ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. thirtyoneplease says:

      Thanks Nadine ๐Ÿ™‚ much love โค

      Like

Leave a Reply

